'Friends of Sri Lanka' group of the European Parliament re-launched



The 'Friends of Sri Lanka' group of the European Parliament was re-launched on 4 June 2008, under the Chairmanship of MEP Geoffrey Van Orden and the patronage of the Ambassador. Over 25 MEPs from Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain and the UK, belonging to the EPP-ED (Conservative), PES (Socialist), ALDE (Liberal), UEN (Union for Europe of the Nations Group), GUE-NGL (Nordic Green Left) parties and also non-attached members, constitute the group. The Friends of Sri Lanka group would assist in bringing issues of importance to Sri Lanka to the attention of European policy makers to give Sri Lanka a voice in the European Parliament.

Embassy of Sri Lanka

Brussels

5 June 2008